Visa PolicyEntry PF-849871 · Page 16 · Stamped OCT 13, 2026

US Plans $750 Fee to Skip Visa Wait Times

The US will let some travelers pay $750 to skip long visa wait times, ABC10 reports. Eligibility, start date and refund terms remain undisclosed.

Programme
Visa Policy
Filed
Reading
3 min
Need a U.S. visa faster? New program will let some travelers pay $750 to skip long waits - ABC10
Need a U.S. visa faster? New program will let some travelers pay $750 to skip long waits - ABC10Photo — AI-generated

Entry details

  • A new US program will charge $750 to speed up visa processing for some travelers.
  • ABC10 reports the fee would let applicants skip long interview wait times.
  • No start date for the program has been disclosed.
  • Eligibility is described only as 'some travelers'; no visa categories are named.
  • No implementing regulation or official notice accompanied the announcement.

The United States has announced a new program that will charge $750 to speed up visa processing for some travelers, according to a report by ABC10. The fee would let applicants bypass long wait times that currently stretch across many US consulates. That figure — $750 — is the only hard number the announcement carries, and it raises more questions than it answers.

The program targets what the report calls "some travelers," a phrase the announcement does not define. The report does not name visa categories, income thresholds, or nationality limits. It does not say whether the $750 covers a single applicant or a family, or whether the payment guarantees an interview date within a fixed window.

What does the program change?

Under the current system, visa applicants join the same queue regardless of urgency, and wait times for interview appointments vary widely by consulate. The new option would introduce a paid fast lane: $750 to skip ahead. ABC10 frames the change around travelers who "need a U.S. visa faster."

Supporters of paid expedited processing typically argue that it funds consular capacity while relieving pressure on the standard queue. The announcement itself makes no such claim. It promises speed for those who pay; it says nothing about what happens to those who cannot.

Who qualifies for the $750 option?

The report does not say. "Some travelers" is the full extent of the eligibility language. Three gaps stand out:

  • No visa categories are named — tourist, student, and work visas may or may not qualify.
  • No effective date is given; the report says the program "will" launch, without saying when.
  • No annual cap or volume limit is disclosed, so the effect on standard-queue wait times cannot be measured.

Applicants should treat the $750 figure as a proposal until the State Department or the relevant consular authority publishes implementing rules on an official government website. Paid programs of this kind typically require formal notice before they take effect. This report contains no such notice.

What does the announcement not say?

A skeptic's inventory runs long. The report does not state whether the $750 is refundable if the appointment still slips. It does not say whether the payment goes to the government or to a contracted processor. It does not disclose what share of interview slots the fast lane would consume. It quotes no official by name and cites no regulation number.

Every promise of speed carries a caveat: a fee buys priority only if slots exist. If a consulate has no appointments, $750 buys a place in the same empty calendar. The announcement, as summarized, does not address that risk.

How should travelers respond now?

For now, nothing has changed for applicants. The standard process — online DS-160 form, fee payment, and interview scheduling through the official appointment system — remains the documented route. No applicant should pay $750 to any third party until the program appears on an official US government domain. Fraudulent copycat offers commonly follow announcements of this kind, and the report itself offers no consumer warning.

Passport File will track the implementing regulation, the effective date, and the eligibility rules when the responsible agency publishes them. Until then, the only verified facts are these: the United States has floated a $750 expedited option, it would serve some subset of visa applicants, and its start date remains unknown.

This article reports on program changes as announced; it does not constitute legal advice for individual cases. Readers with pending applications should rely on the State Department's official visa information pages for current wait times and procedures.

via GN New Visa Programmes (Source)

Share this article:

More from Olivia Hart

Olivia Hart

Show full bio

Senior reporter covering regulation, policy and their impact on Immigration and mobility policy worldwide at Passport File.

286 articles

Onward routes

« Previous articleNext article »

Machine readable zone