Study RoutesEntry PF-816266 · Page 11 · Stamped OCT 10, 2026

Indian students face work-permit denial after $32,000 Canadian study

Indian students who paid about $32,000 to study in Canada have been told they cannot qualify for a work permit, according to a brief Education Times headline. The article did not specify the institution, the cohort size, or the rule applied.

Programme
Study Routes
Filed
Reading
3 min
Indian students paid $32,000 to study in Canada; now they’re told they can’t get a work permit - Education Times
Indian students paid $32,000 to study in Canada; now they’re told they can’t get a work permit - Education TimesPhoto — AI-generated

Entry details

  • Indian students paid about $32,000 to study in Canada, per Education Times
  • The students were informed they do not qualify for a Canadian work permit
  • The students are Indian nationals
  • Education Times did not specify how many students were affected
  • Education Times did not name the institution or the specific refusal reason

A reported $32,000 investment in a Canadian education has left Indian students without the work permit they expected, according to a headline published by the Indian outlet Education Times.

The headline said only that students from India who paid $32,000 to study in Canada have since been informed they do not qualify for a work permit. It carried no additional detail, and the article body did not appear in the available material.

The context this points to is the Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) programme, the main route by which international graduates of Canadian institutions gain the right to work in the country after completing their studies. The PGWP has long served as the bridge from student status to Canadian work experience and, for many applicants, to permanent residence through the Canadian Experience Class or Provincial Nominee Programmes.

What does the headline tell us?

The Education Times headline identifies three concrete facts:

  • The students are Indian nationals.
  • They paid approximately $32,000 in tuition and related costs for their Canadian study program.
  • They have now been told they cannot obtain a work permit.

The headline does not specify:

  • The number of students in this situation.
  • The Canadian institution or program they attended.
  • The category of work permit they sought.
  • The specific legal reason IRCC gave for the denial.
  • When the refusal was communicated.
  • Whether the denial is final or under appeal.

Who is affected?

The headline refers to Indian students specifically. Indian nationals have consistently formed the largest group of international students in Canada for several years. Indian graduates therefore account for a significant share of PGWP applications processed by IRCC each year. The headline does not, however, quantify how many Indian students are in this situation, name the cohort, or define the period over which the refusals occurred.

What is the relevant policy framework?

The source does not identify a particular policy change. IRCC sets Canada's PGWP eligibility rules. Those rules link to a list of designated learning institutions, the length of the program completed, and other conditions in the published IRCC policy. PGWP applicants who receive a refusal will see the decision resting on one of those eligibility criteria as applied to their case.

The published material also does not state whether the students in question had received a written refusal letter, whether they had sought a judicial review at the Federal Court, or whether their institution remained on the IRCC list of PGWP-eligible schools at the time of their application.

Where to verify

The official record on PGWP eligibility — including the list of designated learning institutions, the program-length thresholds, and the application procedures — sits on the IRCC website at canada.ca. The written refusal letter received by an applicant will state the precise legal basis for the decision and the avenue for any review.

Where can readers seek legal advice?

Passport File does not provide individual legal advice. Anyone facing a similar refusal should request the written IRCC refusal letter, confirm their institution's PGWP-eligible status on the official IRCC list, and consult a licensed Canadian immigration lawyer or a Regulated Canadian Immigration Consultant (RCIC) authorised by the College of Immigration and Citizenship Consultants.

via GN Work Permits (Source)

Share this article:

More from Marcus Bennett

Marcus Bennett

Show full bio

Staff writer covering business strategy at Passport File.

244 articles

Onward routes

« Previous article

Machine readable zone